Greuther Fürth 1 – Bayern 3- The Reds get valuable away win at Sportpark Ronhof Thomas Sommer

Greuther Fürth 1 - Bayern 3

Photo Credit: AP

Bayern Munich beat Greuther Fürth with a thumping 3-1 victory on Friday at Sportpark Ronhof Thomas Sommer. Greuther Fürth arrived at the game looking pick up points after losing their last game 2-1 to BSC while Bayern were coming from consecutive wins against Bochum and RB Leipzig. After today’s result, Greuther Fürth and Bayern currently occupy 18th and 1st spots in the league, with 1 point and 16 points respectively after 6 matches.

Bayern dominated the first half, thanks to Thomas Muller giving Bayern the lead, at 10 minutes. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Joshua Kimmich, 31 minutes in, finalising the first half 0-2.

The Reds continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, with a goal from Sebastian Griesbeck in the 68th minute. In the end though, Greuther Fürth just before the final whistle hit back though following a Cedric Itten goal and seeing the game end 3-1.

For Greuther Fürth, Dickson Abiama, Timothy Tillmann, Cedric Itten, Abdourahmane Barry and Jamie Leweling, came on for Havard Nielsen, Sebastian Griesbeck, Branimir Hrgota, Jetro Willems and Julian Green. Bayern replaced Leroy Sane, Thomas Muller, Niklas Sule and Leon Goretzka for Marcel Sabitzer, Serge Gnabry, Josip Stanisic and Jamal Musiala.

The referee booked Branimir Hrgota, Nick Viergever, Dickson Abiama and Abdourahmane Barry from Greuther Fürth. Bayern had the worst of it though, with Leroy Sane seeing yellow, and Benjamin Pavard then sent off with a red.

Greuther Fürth will next travel to FC Köln, while Bayern will face Eintracht Frankfurt at home.

Technical card:
Greuther Fürth: Sascha Burchert, Marco Meyerhofer, Maximilian Bauer, Nick Viergever, Jetro Willems (Abdourahmane Barry, min.77), Julian Green (Jamie Leweling, min.86), Paul Seguin, Sebastian Griesbeck (Timothy Tillmann, min.76), Jeremy Dudziak, Branimir Hrgota (Cedric Itten, min.76) and Havard Nielsen (Dickson Abiama, min.67)
Bayern Munich: Manuel Neuer, Benjamin Pavard, Niklas Sule (Josip Stanisic, min.87), Dayot Upamecano, Lucas Hernandez, Leroy Sane (Marcel Sabitzer, min.61), Thomas Muller (Serge Gnabry, min.76), Joshua Kimmich, Leon Goretzka (Jamal Musiala, min.87), Alphonso Davies and Robert Lewandowski
Stadium: Sportpark Ronhof Thomas Sommer
Goals: Thomas Muller (0-1, min. 10), Joshua Kimmich (0-2, min. 31), Sebastian Griesbeck (0-3, min. 68) and Cedric Itten (1-3, min. 87)