Frankfurt 2 – Union Berlin 1: The Iron Ones succumb to The Eagles at the Commerzbank Arena

Photo Credit: AP

Union Berlin on away loss to Frankfurt at the Commerzbank Arena on Sunday. Both Frankfurt and Union Berlin arrived on the back of wins. Frankfurt were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run after winning their previous two games against SC Freiburg away and Greuther Fürth away, by 2-0 and 2-1 respectively. Union Berlin, on the other hand, were looking to extend their winning run after a 2-0 victory against BSC. As it stands, Frankfurt are in 12th place, with 18 points from 13 matches, while Union Berlin sit in 6th, with 20 points from 13.

The Eagles started the first half well, with Djibril Sow finding the net, at 22 minutes and the first half ended 1-0.

The Iron Ones took the initiative in the second half, thanks to a goal from Max Kruse, at 62 minutes. Frankfurt in turn, then responded just before the final whistle increasing their lead with an effort from Evan N`Dicka, which sealed the victory for Frankfurt.

For Frankfurt, Goncalo Paciencia and Ragnar Ache, came on for Rafael Borre and Jesper Lindstrom. Union Berlin brought on Julian Ryerson, Sheraldo Becker, Andreas Voglsammer, Levin Oztunali and Niko Giesselmann, to replace Rani Khedira, Genki Haraguchi, Taiwo Awoniyi, Max Kruse and Bastian Oczipka.

The referee booked Grischa Promel, Robin Knoche, Andreas Luthe and Sheraldo Becker for Union Berlin.

Frankfurt will next play Hoffenheim away, with Union Berlin facing RB Leipzig at home.

Technical card:
Eintracht Frankfurt: Kevin Trapp, Makoto Hasebe, Tuta, Evan N`Dicka, Timothy Chandler, Kristijan Jakic, Djibril Sow, Filip Kostic, Rafael Borre (Goncalo Paciencia, min.68), Jesper Lindstrom (Ragnar Ache, min.77) and Daichi Kamada
Union Berlin: Andreas Luthe, Marvin Friedrich, Timo Baumgartl, Robin Knoche, Christopher Trimmel, Rani Khedira (Julian Ryerson, min.58), Grischa Promel, Genki Haraguchi (Sheraldo Becker, min.58), Bastian Oczipka (Niko Giesselmann, min.90), Taiwo Awoniyi (Andreas Voglsammer, min.76) and Max Kruse (Levin Oztunali, min.76)
Stadium: the Commerzbank Arena
Goals: Djibril Sow (1-0, min. 22), Max Kruse (1-1, min. 62) and Evan N`Dicka (2-1, min. 90)

*All photo credit on the site belongs to ap*