Frankfurt 1 – Cologne 1- Honours even at the Commerzbank Arena

Photo Credit: AP

Frankfurt were held to 1-1 draw by Cologne down on Saturday at the Commerzbank Arena. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were keen to pick up points. Frankfurt wanted to improve their league standing following a disappointing 1-1 draw with Wolfsburg in their previous game. Cologne had to settle for a draw 1-1 against RB Leipzig. As it stands, Frankfurt are in 14th place on the table and has 4 points while Cologne sit in 9th with 8 points after 6 matches.

Cologne started the first half well, with Ellyes Skhiri giving The Billy Goats the lead at the 14 minute mark. However, their lead was short lived, as Rafael Borre equalised for Frankfurt just before half-time, finalising the first half 1-1. Both teams struggled to produce anything in the second half and the game ended 1-1.

For Frankfurt, Danny Da Costa, Daichi Kamada, Jesper Lindstrom and Stefan Ilsanker, came on for Erik Durm, Sam Lammers, Jens Hauge and Djibril Sow. Cologne brought on Jorge Mere, Kingsley Ehizibue, Jan Thielmann, Louis Schaub and Mark Uth for Luca Kilian, Benno Erik Schmitz, Dejan Ljubicic, Florian Kainz and Ondrej Duda.

There were bookings for Timothy Chandler and Martin Hinteregger from Frankfurt. For Cologne, Dejan Ljubicic, Kingsley Ehizibue and Sebastian Andersson saw yellow.

Frankfurt will next travel to Bayern Munich, while Cologne will face Greuther Fürth at home.

Technical card:
Eintracht Frankfurt: Kevin Trapp, Timothy Chandler, Martin Hinteregger, Evan N`Dicka, Erik Durm (Danny Da Costa, min.11), Jens Hauge (Jesper Lindstrom, min.62), Rafael Borre, Djibril Sow (Stefan Ilsanker, min.85), Kristijan Jakic, Filip Kostic and Sam Lammers (Daichi Kamada, min.61)
FC Köln: Timo Horn, Benno Erik Schmitz (Kingsley Ehizibue, min.46), Rafael Czichos, Luca Kilian (Jorge Mere, min.35), Jonas Hector, Dejan Ljubicic (Jan Thielmann, min.46), Ondrej Duda (Mark Uth, min.85), Ellyes Skhiri, Florian Kainz (Louis Schaub, min.72), Anthony Modeste and Sebastian Andersson
Stadium: the Commerzbank Arena
Goals: Ellyes Skhiri (0-1, min. 14) and Rafael Borre (1-1, min. 45)