Hertha 1 – Wolfsburg 2- Home defeat for The Old Lady as The Wolves take points

Photo Credit: AP

Wolfsburg eased past BSC in a 2-1 victory on Saturday at the Olympiastadion. Hertha were looking to get back their winning ways, following a previous defeat to FC Köln. Wolfsburg, on the other hand, were able to continue their winning streak after a 1-0 win against Bochum in their last match. As the table looks today, Hertha and Wolfsburg currently occupy 18th and 7th spots in the league, with 0 points and 3 points respectively after 2 matches.

Following a goalless first half, Hertha took the initiative in the second half, thanks to Dodi Lukebakio finding the net, 60 minutes in. However, they were unable to maintain their lead, Ridle Baku managed to equalize and take the sides off in the 74th minute at 1-1. Wolfsburg then netted once more and turned the match thanks to a goal from Lukas Nmecha just before the final whistle with a final score of 2-1.

For Hertha, Stevan Jovetic, Marco Richter, Lucas Tousart, Deyovaisio Zeefuik and Jordan Torunarigha, came on for Kevin-Prince Boateng, Javairo Dilrosun, Davie Selke, Suat Serdar and Dedryck Boyata. Wolfsburg brought on Josip Brekalo, Lukas Nmecha, Yannick Gerhardt and Josuha Guilavogui for Renato Steffen, Maximilian Philipp, Jerome Roussillon and Xaver Schlager.

There were bookings for Kevin-Prince Boateng from Hertha, and Kevin Mbabu and Jerome Roussillon, for Wolfsburg.

Hertha will next travel to Bayern Munich, while Wolfsburg will face RB Leipzig at home.

Technical card:
BSC: Alexander Schwolow, Peter Pekarik, Niklas Stark, Dedryck Boyata (Jordan Torunarigha, min.85), Marvin Plattenhardt, Suat Serdar (Deyovaisio Zeefuik, min.84), Kevin-Prince Boateng (Stevan Jovetic, min.43), Santiago Ascacibar, Javairo Dilrosun (Marco Richter, min.67), Davie Selke (Lucas Tousart, min.84) and Dodi Lukebakio
Wolfsburg: Koen Casteels, Kevin Mbabu, John Brooks, Maxence Lacroix, Jerome Roussillon (Yannick Gerhardt, min.89), Ridle Baku, Maximilian Philipp (Lukas Nmecha, min.70), Xaver Schlager (Josuha Guilavogui, min.90), Maximilian Arnold, Renato Steffen (Josip Brekalo, min.70) and Wout Weghorst
Stadium: the Olympiastadion
Goals: Dodi Lukebakio (1-0, min. 60), Ridle Baku (1-1, min. 74) and Lukas Nmecha (1-2, min. 88)