Hertha 1 – Freiburg 2- The Old Lady unable to stop visitors getting win

Photo Credit: AP

SC Freiburg enjoyed a mesmerising away victory against Hertha at the Olympiastadion on Saturday. Hertha were looking to get back their winning ways after losing their last game 6-0 to RB Leipzig. Freiburg were looking to extend their winning run after a 3-0 victory against Augsburg. After today’s result, Hertha and Freiburg currently occupy 13th and 3rd spots in the table, with 6 points and 15 points respectively after 7 matches.

Freiburg started the first half well, thanks to Philipp Lienhart finding the net, at 17 minutes, finalising the first half 0-1.

Hertha took the initiative in the second half, with a goal from Krzysztof Piatek at the 70 minute mark. Breisgau Brazilians in turn, then responded in the 78th minute increasing their lead with an effort from Nils Petersen. The game ended with a 2-1 win for Freiburg.

For Hertha, Krzysztof Piatek, Peter Pekarik, Jurgen Ekkelenkamp, Dennis Jastrzembski and Maximilian Mittelstadt, came on for Marton Dardai, Davie Selke, Marco Richter, Kevin-Prince Boateng and Stevan Jovetic. Freiburg brought on Yannik Keitel, Nils Petersen, Ermedin Demirovic, Roland Sallai and Janik Haberer, to replace Maximilian Eggestein, Vincenzo Grifo, Lucas Holer, Woo-yeong Jeong and Lukas Kubler.

The referee booked Kevin-Prince Boateng and Suat Serdar for Hertha.

Hertha will play away against Eintracht Frankfurt, while Freiburg will face RB Leipzig at home.

Technical card:
BSC: Alexander Schwolow, Dedryck Boyata, Niklas Stark, Marton Dardai (Krzysztof Piatek, min.46), Marco Richter (Jurgen Ekkelenkamp, min.58), Lucas Tousart, Kevin-Prince Boateng (Dennis Jastrzembski, min.58), Marvin Plattenhardt, Suat Serdar, Stevan Jovetic (Maximilian Mittelstadt, min.64) and Davie Selke (Peter Pekarik, min.46)
SC Freiburg: Mark Flekken, Manuel Gulde, Philipp Lienhart, Nico Schlotterbeck, Lukas Kubler (Janik Haberer, min.84), Nicolas Hofler, Maximilian Eggestein (Yannik Keitel, min.62), Christian Gunter, Lucas Holer (Ermedin Demirovic, min.76), Vincenzo Grifo (Nils Petersen, min.76) and Woo-yeong Jeong (Roland Sallai, min.76)
Stadium: the Olympiastadion
Goals: Philipp Lienhart (0-1, min. 17), Krzysztof Piatek (1-1, min. 70) and Nils Petersen (1-2, min. 78)