BSC – FC Köln – Hertha fail to secure victory against The Billy Goats, after goal-less draw

Both sides left looking for positives as Hertha versus Cologne, ends in a 0-0 draw
Christoph Spitz

Christoph Spitz

Christoph is straigh-up honest about how easy he has it. While the supporters of other teams wait for years or decades for the Bundesliga trophy, he cheers for Bayern.

Saturday’s fixture between Hertha and Cologne delivered a goalless draw at the Olympiastadion. Hertha were looking for a victory following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Arminia Bielefeld in their previous game. Cologne lost 4-1 in the last match they played against SC Freiburg. As it stands, Hertha are in 14th place on the table and has 35 points while Cologne sit in 17th with 30 points after 33 matches.

For Hertha, Marvin Plattenhardt, Niklas Stark, Jonas Michelbrink, Deyovaisio Zeefuik and Marten Winkler, came on for Jordan Torunarigha, Marton Dardai, Javairo Dilrosun, Nemanja Radonjic and Jessic Ngankam. Cologne brought on Jannes Horn, Marius Wolf, Salih Ozcan, Jan Thielmann and Kingsley Ehizibue, to replace Florian Kainz, Dominick Drexler, Elvis Rexhbecaj, Sebastian Andersson and Benno Erik Schmitz.

There were bookings for Dedryck Boyata and Jordan Torunarigha from Hertha, and Ellyes Skhiri and Ismail Jakobs, for Cologne.

Hertha will next play Hoffenheim away, with Cologne facing Schalke at home.

Technical card:
BSC: Alexander Schwolow, Omar Alderete, Dedryck Boyata, Marton Dardai (Niklas Stark, min.67), Mathew Leckie, Javairo Dilrosun (Jonas Michelbrink, min.67), Lukas Klunter, Santiago Ascacibar, Jordan Torunarigha (Marvin Plattenhardt, min.46), Nemanja Radonjic (Deyovaisio Zeefuik, min.79) and Jessic Ngankam (Marten Winkler, min.90)
FC Köln: Timo Horn, Benno Erik Schmitz (Kingsley Ehizibue, min.87), Sebastiaan Bornauw, Rafael Czichos, Ismail Jakobs, Dominick Drexler (Marius Wolf, min.60), Elvis Rexhbecaj (Salih Ozcan, min.71), Ondrej Duda, Ellyes Skhiri, Florian Kainz (Jannes Horn, min.60) and Sebastian Andersson (Jan Thielmann, min.71)
Stadium: the Olympiastadion
Goals: 0-0

More From 888post