Borussia Mönchengladbach 1-2 Mainz – Jubilant Mainz take all 3 points against Borussia Mönchengladbach, in a 2-1 win

Bo Svensson’s men secure all 3 points after victory away to Borussia Mönchengladbach on Saturday
Technical card:
Borussia Mönchengladbach: Yann Sommer, Stefan Lainer (Breel Embolo, min.89), Nico Elvedi, Matthias Ginter, Ramy Bensebaini, Valentino Lazaro (Hannes Wolf, min.81), Florian Neuhaus, Lars Stindl, Christoph Kramer (Denis Zakaria, min.46), Jonas Hofmann and Alassane Plea (Marcus Thuram, min.73)
Mainz: Robin Zentner, Juste, Moussa Niakhate, Stefan Bell (Alexander Hack, min.63), Danny Da Costa, Leandro Martins (Jean-Paul Boetius, min.81), Dominik Kohr, Danny Latza (Kevin Stoger, min.63), Philipp Mwene, Karim Onisiwo (Jonathan Michael Burkardt, min.69) and Adam Szalai (Robert Glatzel, min.69)
Stadium: The Borussia Park
Goals: Karim Onisiwo (0-1, min. 10), Lars Stindl (1-1, min. 26) and Kevin Stoger (1-2, min. 86)

Mönchengladbach on Saturday lost to Mainz on a home defeat at The Borussia Park. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were keen to pick up points. Borussia Mönchengladbach wanted to continue adding points after a scoreless draw against Wolfsburg in their previous match. Mainz were unable to beat Bayer Leverkusen in a 2-2 draw. As things stand, Borussia Mönchengladbach and Mainz are 8th, (33 points) and 17th, (17 points), spots respectively, after 22 matches.

Mainz scored first, beginning with a goal from Karim Onisiwo, 10 minutes in. However, their lead didn’t last for long, as an equalizer from a Lars Stindl, 26 minutes in brought Borussia Mönchengladbach level. The score at half time was 1-1.

Mainz continued to apply pressure the second half and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Kevin Stoger just before the final whistle. The game ended with a 2-1 victory for Mainz.

For Mönchengladbach, Denis Zakaria, Marcus Thuram, Hannes Wolf and Breel Embolo came on for Danny Latza, Stefan Bell, Karim Onisiwo, Adam Szalai and Leandro Martins, while Mainz brought on Kevin Stoger, Alexander Hack, Jonathan Michael Burkardt, Robert Glatzel and Jean-Paul Boetius to replace Danny Latza, Stefan Bell, Karim Onisiwo, Adam Szalai and Leandro Martins.

There were bookings for Christoph Kramer from Mönchengladbach and Dominik Kohr for Mainz.

Borussia Mönchengladbach will play away against RB Leipzig, while Mainz will face Augsburg at home.

More From 888post