Dortmund 3 – Hoffenheim 2- From Kraichgau region succumb to Die Borussen at the Signal Iduna Park

Photo Credit: AP

Borussia Dortmund strolled past Hoffenheim with a 3-2 win on Friday at the Signal Iduna Park. Dortmund arrived at the game looking pick up points, following a previous defeat to SC Freiburg. Hoffenheim, on the other hand, had to settle for a draw 2-2 against Union Berlin. As it stands, Dortmund are currently 1st with 6 points from 3 matches, while Hoffenheim sit in 4th, with 4 points from 3.

After an un-eventful first half, Whatever was said in the dressing room at half time, seemed to have a positive effect on Die Borussen who started the second half well, with an early goal from Giovanni Reyna in the 49th minute. However, they were unable to maintain their lead, Christoph Baumgartner managed to equalize and take the sides off in the 61st minute at 1-1. However, each side looked hungry to win and Dortmund then found the back of the net in the 69th minute thanks to Jude Bellingham, taking the score to 2-1. However, their lead was short-lived, as an equalizer from Munas Dabbur at the 90 minute mark, brought From Kraichgau region level. Dortmund in turn, then responded just before the final whistle increasing their lead with an effort from Erling Haaland, sealing a 3-2 victory for the away side.

For Dortmund, Julian Brandt, Marius Wolf, Felix Passlack and Youssoufa Moukoko, came on for Giovanni Reyna, Jude Bellingham, Raphael Guerreiro and Donyell Malen. Hoffenheim replaced Angelo Stiller, Jacob Bruun Larsen, Christoph Baumgartner and Dennis Geiger for Georginio Rutter, Mijat Gacinovic, Sargis Adamyan and Munas Dabbur.

There were bookings for Mahmoud Dahoud and Thomas Meunier from Dortmund, and Christoph Baumgartner, Stefan Posch and Dennis Geiger, for Hoffenheim.

Dortmund will next play Bayer Leverkusen away, with Hoffenheim facing Mainz at home.

Technical card:
Borussia Dortmund: Gregor Kobel, Thomas Meunier, Axel Witsel, Manuel Akanji, Raphael Guerreiro (Felix Passlack, min.84), Mahmoud Dahoud, Marco Reus, Giovanni Reyna (Julian Brandt, min.64), Jude Bellingham (Marius Wolf, min.72), Donyell Malen (Youssoufa Moukoko, min.84) and Erling Haaland
Hoffenheim: Oliver Baumann, Kevin Akpoguma, Stefan Posch, Kevin Vogt, David Raum, Christoph Baumgartner (Sargis Adamyan, min.70), Dennis Geiger (Munas Dabbur, min.83), Sebastian Rudy, Angelo Stiller (Georginio Rutter, min.46), Jacob Bruun Larsen (Mijat Gacinovic, min.70) and Andrej Kramaric
Stadium: the Signal Iduna Park
Goals: Giovanni Reyna (1-0, min. 49), Christoph Baumgartner (1-1, min. 61), Jude Bellingham (2-1, min. 69), Munas Dabbur (2-2, min. 90) and Erling Haaland (3-2, min. 90)