Borussia Dortmund 2-2 Hoffenheim – Frustrated Borussia Dortmund share points with Hoffenheim after 2-2 draw

Technical card:
Borussia Dortmund: Oliver Baumann, Pavel Kaderabek, Kevin Vogt, Stefan Posch, Marco John, Sebastian Rudy, Christoph Baumgartner, Diadie Samassekou, Florian Grillitsch, Munas Dabbur and Ihlas Bebou
Hoffenheim: Marwin Hitz, Emre Can, Mats Hummels, Manuel Akanji, Raphael Guerreiro, Julian Brandt, Giovanni Reyna, Thomas Delaney, Jude Bellingham, Jadon Sancho and Erling Haaland
Stadium: The Signal Iduna Park
Goals: Jadon Sancho (1-0, min. 24), Munas Dabbur (1-1, min. 31), Ihlas Bebou (1-2, min. 51) and Erling Haaland (2-2, min. 81)

On Saturday, Borussia Dortmund and Hoffenheim were held to a 2-2 draw at The Signal Iduna Park. With each team arriving on the back of a league defeat, they were both keen to pick up points. Borussia Dortmund were looking to get back winning ways after losing their last game 2-1 to SC Freiburg. Hoffenheim, on the other hand, were beaten 3-1 in the previous match against Eintracht Frankfurt. Following today’s result, Borussia Dortmund are in 6th place, with 33 points from 21 matches, while Hoffenheim sit in 12th, with 23 points from 21.

The first half of the game started favourably for Borussia Dortmund, following Jadon Sancho opening the scoring in the 24th minute. However, they didn’t maintain the lead for long though, an equalizer from a Munas Dabbur, 31 minutes in brought Hoffenheim level, thereby seeing the first half to a 1-1.

Hoffenheim staged a comeback in the second half, beginning with Ihlas Bebou opening the scoring in minute 51. However, their lead was short lived, with an equalizer from a Erling Haaland, 81 minutes in brought Borussia Dortmund level, levelled the score at 2-2 draw.

Both coaches the full entitlement. For Borussia Dortmund Marco Reus, Youssoufa Moukoko, Mahmoud Dahoud and Nico Schulz came on for Giovanni Reyna, Julian Brandt, Thomas Delaney and Jude Bellingham, while Hoffenheim brought on Mijat Gacinovic and Robert Skov to replace Pavel Kaderabek and Munas Dabbur.

There were bookings for Thomas Delaney, Manuel Akanji and Erling Haaland from Dortmund and Sebastian Rudy, Florian Grillitsch, Kevin Vogt, Stefan Posch, Diadie Samassekou, Munas Dabbur and Mijat Gacinovic for Hoffenheim.

Borussia Dortmund will next play Schalke away, with Hoffenheim facing Werder Bremen at home.