Bayer Leverkusen – Union Berlin: Its all even at the Bay Arena, after Bayer draw 1-1 with Union Berlin

Joy and disappointment for both sides as Bayer and Union Berlin can only manage a 1-1 draw
Christoph Spitz

Christoph Spitz

Christoph is straigh-up honest about how easy he has it. While the supporters of other teams wait for years or decades for the Bundesliga trophy, he cheers for Bayern.

On Saturday, Bayer and Union Berlin were held to a 1-1 draw at the Bay Arena. Bayer arrived with the intention of increasing their league score following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Werder Bremen in their previous game. Union Berlin lost 3-0 in the last match they played against Wolfsburg. As it stands, Bayer are in 6th place, with 52 points from 33 matches, while Union Berlin sit in 7th, with 47 points from 33.

The Company’s Eleven started strongly in the first half, with Florian Wirtz giving Bayer the lead, 26 minutes in. They then managed to see out the first half 1-0.

The Iron Ones took the initiative in the second half, thanks to a goal from Joel Pohjanpalo, 72 minutes in. The game ended 1-1.

For Bayer, Karim Bellarabi, Demarai Gray and Sven Bender, came on for Nadiem Amiri, Patrik Schick and Florian Wirtz. Union Berlin brought on Joel Pohjanpalo, Taiwo Awoniyi, Marius Bulter, Sheraldo Becker and Sebastian Griesbeck, to replace Petar Musa, Marcus Ingvartsen, Christopher Lenz, Christopher Trimmel and Christian Gentner.

There were bookings for Nadiem Amiri and Edmond Tapsoba from Bayer. For Union Berlin, Marcus Ingvartsen and Robert Andrich saw yellow.

Bayer will next travel to Borussia Dortmund, while Union Berlin will face RB Leipzig at home.

Technical card:
Bayer Leverkusen: Lukas Hradecky, Jonathan Tah, Aleksandar Dragovic, Edmond Tapsoba, Wendell, Moussa Diaby, Charles Aranguiz, Florian Wirtz (Sven Bender, min.90), Kerem Demirbay, Nadiem Amiri (Karim Bellarabi, min.68) and Patrik Schick (Demarai Gray, min.84)
Union Berlin: Andreas Luthe, Marvin Friedrich, Nico Schlotterbeck, Robin Knoche, Christopher Trimmel (Sheraldo Becker, min.66), Marcus Ingvartsen (Taiwo Awoniyi, min.55), Christian Gentner (Sebastian Griesbeck, min.84), Robert Andrich, Christopher Lenz (Marius Bulter, min.66), Petar Musa (Joel Pohjanpalo, min.55) and Max Kruse
Stadium: the Bay Arena
Goals: Florian Wirtz (1-0, min. 26) and Joel Pohjanpalo (1-1, min. 72)

More From 888post