Bayer 1 – Mainz 0- Victory denied for visitors as The Company’s Eleven win

Bayer Leverkusen 1-0 Mainz - Match Report & Highlights

Photo Credit: AP

Bayer Leverkusen beats Mainz 1-0 on Saturday at the Bay Arena. Bayer were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run after winning last match. Mainz are struggling for form following a draw in their last match. As the table looks today, Bayer are in 2nd place on the table and has 13 points while Mainz sit in 5th with 10 points after 6 matches.

After a goalless first half, The Company’s Eleven applied pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Florian Wirtz in the 62nd minute, leaving the final score at 1-0.

For Bayer, Amine Adli, Piero Hincapie, Lucas Alario, Nadiem Amiri and Paulinho, came on for Karim Bellarabi, Odilon Kossounou, Patrik Schick, Florian Wirtz and Moussa Diaby. Mainz brought on Anton Stach, Marcus Ingvartsen, Lee Jae Sung, Paul Nebel and Kevin Stoger, to replace Leandro Martins, Karim Onisiwo, Dominik Kohr, Stefan Bell and Jean-Paul Boetius.

There were bookings for Jonathan Tah, Moussa Diaby, Mitchel Bakker and Lucas Alario from Bayer. For Mainz, Anderson Lucoqui, Anton Stach and Lee Jae Sung saw yellow.

Bayer will next play Arminia Bielefeld away, with Mainz facing Union Berlin at home.

Technical card:
Bayer Leverkusen: Lukas Hradecky, Jeremie Frimpong, Jonathan Tah, Odilon Kossounou (Piero Hincapie, min.66), Mitchel Bakker, Karim Bellarabi (Amine Adli, min.61), Kerem Demirbay, Charles Aranguiz, Florian Wirtz (Nadiem Amiri, min.83), Moussa Diaby (Paulinho, min.83) and Patrik Schick (Lucas Alario, min.82)
Mainz: Robin Zentner, Juste, Stefan Bell (Paul Nebel, min.75), Silvan Widmer, Daniel Brosinski, Jean-Paul Boetius (Kevin Stoger, min.75), Leandro Martins (Anton Stach, min.66), Dominik Kohr (Lee Jae Sung, min.75), Anderson Lucoqui, Jonathan Michael Burkardt and Karim Onisiwo (Marcus Ingvartsen, min.66)
Stadium: the Bay Arena
Goals: Florian Wirtz (1-0, min. 62)