Bayer Leverkusen 2-2 Mainz: Bayer Leverkusen fail to take all 3 points, after 2-2 draw with Mainz

Both sides left looking for positives as Bayer Leverkusen versus Mainz, ends in a 2-2 draw
Technical card:
Bayer Leverkusen: Lukas Hradecky (Niklas Lomb, min.46), Timothy Fosu-Mensah, Jonathan Tah (Sven Bender, min.63), Edmond Tapsoba, Wendell, Charles Aranguiz, Florian Wirtz, Kerem Demirbay (Nadiem Amiri, min.72), Moussa Diaby, Lucas Alario (Patrik Schick, min.63) and Leon Bailey (Demarai Gray, min.72)
Mainz: Robin Zentner, Juste, Stefan Bell, Moussa Niakhate, Danny Da Costa, Danny Latza (Jean-Paul Boetius, min.78), Dominik Kohr, Leandro Martins (Kevin Stoger, min.84), Philipp Mwene, Adam Szalai (Jonathan Michael Burkardt, min.84) and Karim Onisiwo (Robert Glatzel, min.79)
Stadium: The Bay Arena
Goals: Lucas Alario (1-0, min. 14), Patrik Schick (2-0, min. 84), Robert Glatzel (2-1, min. 89) and Kevin Stoger (2-2, min. 90)

Bayer Leverkusen were held to 2-2 draw by Mainz down on Saturday at The Bay Arena. Both teams arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Bayer Leverkusen were looking to pick up points after winning last match. Mainz, on the other hand, were looking to extend their winning run after a 1-0 victory against Union Berlin. As it stands, Bayer Leverkusen are in 4th place on the table and has 36 points while Mainz sit in 17th with 14 points after 21 matches.

Bayer Leverkusen found the net, beginning with Lucas Alario opening the scoring in the 14th minute, which saw the first half end 1-0.

Bayer Leverkusen took the lead in the second half, following a goal from Patrik Schick, 84 minutes in. However, Mainz hit back in the 89th minute, with a goal from Robert Glatzel. Later, Mainz took the lead with a goal form a goal from Kevin Stoger in the 90th minute just before the final whistle. The game ended a 2-2 draw.

For Leverkusen, Niklas Lomb, Patrik Schick, Sven Bender, Nadiem Amiri and Demarai Gray came on for Danny Latza, Karim Onisiwo, Leandro Martins and Adam Szalai, while Mainz brought on Jean-Paul Boetius, Robert Glatzel, Kevin Stoger and Jonathan Michael Burkardt to replace Danny Latza, Karim Onisiwo, Leandro Martins and Adam Szalai.

There were bookings for Jonathan Tah, Wendell, Edmond Tapsoba, Patrik Schick and Timothy Fosu-Mensah from Leverkusen and Kevin Stoger for Mainz.

Mainz and Bayer Leverkusen will next play away to Borussia Mönchengladbach and Augsburg respectively.

More From 888post