Gladbach 1 – Dortmund 0- Home victory for The Colts against Die Borussen

Gladbach 1 – Dortmund 0

Photo Credit: AP

B Mönchengladbach snatched all three points from Borussia Dortmund in a narrow 1-0 victory on Saturday, at the Borussia Park. Gladbach were hoping to get something from this game, following a previous defeat to Augsburg whilst Dortmund were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Union Berlin and Bayer Leverkusen. As the table looks today, Gladbach are currently 11th with 7 points from 6 matches, while Dortmund sit in 4th, with 12 points from 6.

The Colts dominated the first half, with Denis Zakaria giving Gladbach the lead, 37 minutes in, to take a 1-0 lead into half time. Both teams struggled to produce anything meaningful in the second half, leaving the final score at 1-0.

For Gladbach, Hannes Wolf, Christoph Kramer and Laszlo Benes, came on for Luca Netz, Kouadio Kone and Jonas Hofmann. Dortmund brought on Thorgan Hazard, Ansgar Knauff, Nico Schulz, Marius Wolf and Reinier, to replace Marin Pongracic, Youssoufa Moukoko, Raphael Guerreiro, Thomas Meunier and Donyell Malen.

The referee booked Denis Zakaria, Lars Stindl, Luca Netz and Kouadio Kone from Gladbach. Dortmund had the worst of it though, with Mahmoud Dahoud, Marin Pongracic and Jude Bellingham seeing yellow, and Mahmoud Dahoud (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Gladbach will next travel to Wolfsburg, while Dortmund will face Augsburg at home.

Technical card:
B Mönchengladbach: Yann Sommer, Tony Jantschke, Matthias Ginter, Nico Elvedi, Joe Scally, Kouadio Kone (Christoph Kramer, min.73), Denis Zakaria, Luca Netz (Hannes Wolf, min.69), Jonas Hofmann (Laszlo Benes, min.83), Lars Stindl and Breel Embolo
Borussia Dortmund: Gregor Kobel, Mats Hummels, Manuel Akanji, Marin Pongracic (Thorgan Hazard, min.46), Thomas Meunier (Marius Wolf, min.82), Mahmoud Dahoud, Axel Witsel, Jude Bellingham, Raphael Guerreiro (Nico Schulz, min.81), Youssoufa Moukoko (Ansgar Knauff, min.57) and Donyell Malen (Reinier, min.82)
Stadium: the Borussia Park
Goals: Denis Zakaria (1-0, min. 37)