Gladbach 3 – Arminia 1: Points secure as The Colts ease past The Blues

Gladbach enjoyed a mesmerising home victory against Arminia Bielefeld at the Borussia Park on Sunday. Gladbach were hoping to get something from this game after losing 2-1 to Union Berlin in their last match. Arminia are struggling for form following a draw in their last match. After today’s result, Gladbach are in 11th place, with 4 points from 4 matches, while Arminia sit in 14th, with 3 points from 4.

The Colts started the first half well, with Lars Stindl giving Gladbach the lead at the 35 minute mark. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Masaya Okugawa equalised for The Blues just before half-time, which brought Frank Kramer’s squad level at 1-1 at the half time break

Gladbach continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to Lars Stindl finding the net again at the 69 minute mark. However they weren’t finished yet and Denis Zakaria made it 3-1, 72 minutes in to make it 3-1.

For Gladbach, Hannes Wolf, Patrick Herrmann, Keanan Bennetts and Breel Embolo, came on for Jonas Hofmann, Luca Netz, Florian Neuhaus and Lars Stindl. Arminia brought on Bryan Lasme, Janni Serra and Florian Kruger, to replace Patrick Wimmer, Fabian Klos and Masaya Okugawa.

There were bookings for Joe Scally from Gladbach. For Arminia, Robin Hack saw yellow.

Gladbach will next play Augsburg away, with Arminia facing Hoffenheim at home.

Technical card:
B Mönchengladbach: Yann Sommer, Louis Beyer, Nico Elvedi, Matthias Ginter, Joe Scally, Denis Zakaria, Florian Neuhaus (Keanan Bennetts, min.69), Luca Netz (Patrick Herrmann, min.58), Alassane Plea, Jonas Hofmann (Hannes Wolf, min.46) and Lars Stindl (Breel Embolo, min.77)
Arminia Bielefeld: Stefan Ortega, Cedric Brunner, Joakim Nilsson, Nathan De Medina, Jacob Laursen, Alessandro Schopf, Manuel Prietl, Masaya Okugawa (Florian Kruger, min.77), Patrick Wimmer (Bryan Lasme, min.71), Robin Hack and Fabian Klos (Janni Serra, min.77)
Stadium: the Borussia Park
Goals: Lars Stindl (1-0, min. 35), Masaya Okugawa (1-1, min. 45), Lars Stindl (2-1, min. 69) and Denis Zakaria (3-1, min. 72)