Augsburg – Werder Bremen – Augsburg avoid defeat and secure a 2-0 victory at home to Bremen

Its 3 points in the bag for Markus Weinzierl as Werder are beaten 2-0
Christoph Spitz

Christoph Spitz

Christoph is straigh-up honest about how easy he has it. While the supporters of other teams wait for years or decades for the Bundesliga trophy, he cheers for Bayern.

Augsburg strolled past Werder Bremen with a 2-0 win on Saturday at the WWK Arena. Augsburg arrived at the game looking pick up points, following a previous defeat to Stuttgart. Werder, on the other hand, secured a point against Bayer Leverkusen in their previous match. As the table looks today, Augsburg and Werder are 12th, (36 points) and 16th, (31 points), spots respectively, after 33 matches.

After a goalless first half, Fuggerstädter applied pressure in the second and were rewarded, with a goal from Rani Khedira at the 57 minute mark. Augsburg then netted again and increased their lead thanks to a penalty goal from Daniel Caligiuri just before the final whistle with a final score of 2-0.

For Augsburg, Laszlo Benes, Daniel Caligiuri, Alfred Finnbogason and Michael Gregoritsch, came on for Jan Moravek, Marco Richter, Florian Niederlechner and Andre Hahn. Werder brought on Milot Rashica, Marco Friedl, Yuya Osako and Patrick Erras, to replace Davie Selke, Omer Toprak, Leonardo Bittencourt and Maximilian Eggestein.

The referee booked from Augsburg Rafal Gikiewicz, Marco Richter and Andre Hahn and from Werder Christian Gross and Niklas Moisander. Both teams also had a sending off, with Ruben Vargas for Augsburg and Christian Gross (2 yellow cards) for Werder.

Augsburg will next play Bayern Munich away, with Werder facing B Mönchengladbach at home.

Technical card:
Augsburg: Jiri Pavlenka, Theodor Gebre Selassie, Omer Toprak, Niklas Moisander, Ludwig Augustinsson, Maximilian Eggestein, Christian Gross, Leonardo Bittencourt, Josh Sargent, Niclas Fullkrug and Davie Selke
Werder Bremen: Rafal Gikiewicz, Robert Gumny, Reece Oxford, Jeffrey Gouweleeuw, Iago, Andre Hahn, Rani Khedira, Jan Moravek, Marco Richter, Ruben Vargas and Florian Niederlechner
Stadium: the WWK Arena
Goals: Rani Khedira (1-0, min. 57) and Daniel Caligiuri (2-0, min. 90)

More From 888post