Augsburg 1 – Bayer 4- The Company’s Eleven deliver resounding show at the WWK Arena

Bayer Leverkusen cruises against Augsburg on an away win at the WWK Arena on Saturday. Augsburg arrived with the intention of increasing their league score after a scoreless draw against Eintracht Frankfurt in their previous match. Bayer were looking to extend their winning run after a 4-0 victory against B Mönchengladbach. As the table looks today, Augsburg and Bayer sit 17th, (1 point) and 1st, (7 points), in the league respectively, after 3 matches.

The Company’s Eleven started strongly in the first half, with an early calamitous own goal from Iago in the 3rd minute. The momentum was now with Bayer, who then scored again through a goal from Florian Niederlechner, 14 minutes in to establish a 2-0. However, Fuggerstädter secured the points emphatically, with a 2nd effort from Florian Niederlechner, 30 minutes in, finalising the first half 1-2.

Bayer continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, with a goal from Patrik Schick at the 75 minute mark. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Florian Wirtz, at 81 minutes with a final score of 4-1.

For Augsburg, Fredrik Jensen, Mads Pedersen, Michael Gregoritsch, Noah Joel Sarenren Bazee and Raphael Framberger, came on for Daniel Caligiuri, Carlos Gruezo, Florian Niederlechner, Andre Hahn and Robert Gumny. Bayer brought on Florian Wirtz, Robert Andrich, Nadiem Amiri, Daley Sinkgraven and Amine Adli, to replace Paulinho, Exequiel Palacios, Kerem Demirbay, Mitchel Bakker and Moussa Diaby.

The referee booked one player from Bayer, Kerem Demirbay.

Augsburg will next travel to Union Berlin, while Bayer will face Borussia Dortmund at home.

Technical card:
Augsburg: Lukas Hradecky, Jeremie Frimpong, Jonathan Tah, Odilon Kossounou, Mitchel Bakker, Moussa Diaby, Kerem Demirbay, Charles Aranguiz, Exequiel Palacios, Paulinho and Patrik Schick
Bayer Leverkusen: Rafal Gikiewicz, Robert Gumny, Reece Oxford, Felix Ohis Uduokhai, Iago, Daniel Caligiuri, Niklas Dorsch, Carlos Gruezo, Ruben Vargas, Andre Hahn and Florian Niederlechner
Stadium: the WWK Arena
Goals: Iago (0-1, min. 3), Florian Niederlechner (0-2, min. 14), Florian Niederlechner (1-2, min. 30), Patrik Schick (1-3, min. 75) and Florian Wirtz (1-4, min. 81)