Augsburg 1-1 Bayer Leverkusen – Augsburg and Bayer Leverkusen can only manage a 1-1 draw

Photo Credit: AP

Technical card:
Augsburg: Rafal Gikiewicz, Raphael Framberger (Robert Gumny, min.72), Felix Ohis Uduokhai, Jeffrey Gouweleeuw, Mads Pedersen, Daniel Caligiuri (Reece Oxford, min.79), Laszlo Benes (Jan Moravek, min.72), Rani Khedira, Tobias Strobl, Ruben Vargas (Andre Hahn, min.66) and Florian Niederlechner (Marco Richter, min.79)
Bayer Leverkusen: Niklas Lomb, Timothy Fosu-Mensah, Edmond Tapsoba, Sven Bender (Demarai Gray, min.74), Wendell, Florian Wirtz (Lucas Alario, min.60), Charles Aranguiz, Kerem Demirbay, Moussa Diaby, Patrik Schick and Leon Bailey (Jeremie Frimpong, min.58)
Stadium: The WWK Arena
Goals: Florian Niederlechner (1-0, min. 5) and Edmond Tapsoba (1-1, min. 90)

Augsburg were held to 1-1 draw by Bayer Leverkusen down on Sunday at The WWK Arena. Augsburg were looking forward to meeting again after losing their last game 2-1 to RB Leipzig. Bayer Leverkusen, on the other hand, had managed to pick up a single point in their encounter with Mainz. As the table looks today, Augsburg are in 13th place, with 23 points from 22 matches, while Bayer Leverkusen sit in 5th, with 37 points from 22.

It was an impressive opening from Augsburg, beginning with early goal from Florian Niederlechner in the 5th minute, finalising the first half with a 1-0.

Bayer Leverkusen took the initiative in the second half, following a goal from Edmond Tapsoba just before the final whistle, levelled the score at 1-1 draw.

For Augsburg, Andre Hahn, Robert Gumny, Jan Moravek, Reece Oxford and Marco Richter came on for Leon Bailey, Florian Wirtz and Sven Bender, while Leverkusen brought on Jeremie Frimpong, Lucas Alario and Demarai Gray to replace Leon Bailey, Florian Wirtz and Sven Bender.

There were bookings for Laszlo Benes and Florian Niederlechner from Augsburg and Edmond Tapsoba, Charles Aranguiz, Moussa Diaby and Timothy Fosu-Mensah for Leverkusen.

Augsburg will next travel to Mainz, while Bayer Leverkusen will face SC Freiburg at home.

*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*