Arminia 0 – Bayer 4: Home fans shocked following defeat to The Company’s Eleven

Arminia vs Bayer Leverkusen

Photo Credit: AP

Bayer Leverkusen’s 4-0 win over Arminia Bielefeld on Sunday, was hard fought at the Schüco Arena. Arminia were looking forward to meeting again, following a previous defeat to Union Berlin while Bayer were coming from consecutive wins against Mainz and Stuttgart. As things stand, Arminia and Bayer sit 16th, (4 points) and 2nd, (16 points), in the league respectively, after 7 matches.

The Company’s Eleven didn’t take long to get on the score-sheet, with Moussa Diaby opening the rout at the 18 minute mark. However they weren’t finished yet and Patrik Schick made it 2-0, 24 minutes in. The score at half time was 0-2.

Bayer continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, with Patrik Schick finding the net again, at 57 minutes. Bayer then scored once more and increased their lead thanks to a penalty goal from Kerem Demirbay just before the final whistle with a final score of 4-0.

For Arminia, Fabian Kunze, Florian Kruger, Edimilson Fernandes, Bryan Lasme and Nathan De Medina, came on for Alessandro Schopf, Patrick Wimmer, Robin Hack, Fabian Klos and Lennart Czyborra. Bayer brought on Paulinho, Daley Sinkgraven, Karim Bellarabi, Nadiem Amiri and Lucas Alario, to replace Moussa Diaby, Piero Hincapie, Florian Wirtz, Charles Aranguiz and Patrik Schick.

There were bookings for Cedric Brunner, Patrick Wimmer, Lennart Czyborra and Stefan Ortega from Arminia, and Piero Hincapie, for Bayer.

Arminia will next travel to Augsburg, while Bayer will face Bayern Munich at home.

Technical card:
Arminia Bielefeld: Stefan Ortega, Cedric Brunner, Joakim Nilsson, Amos Pieper, Lennart Czyborra (Nathan De Medina, min.78), Patrick Wimmer (Florian Kruger, min.62), Masaya Okugawa, Manuel Prietl, Alessandro Schopf (Fabian Kunze, min.62), Robin Hack (Edimilson Fernandes, min.77) and Fabian Klos (Bryan Lasme, min.77)
Bayer Leverkusen: Lukas Hradecky, Jeremie Frimpong, Odilon Kossounou, Jonathan Tah, Piero Hincapie (Daley Sinkgraven, min.65), Amine Adli, Kerem Demirbay, Charles Aranguiz (Nadiem Amiri, min.75), Florian Wirtz (Karim Bellarabi, min.75), Moussa Diaby (Paulinho, min.64) and Patrik Schick (Lucas Alario, min.75)
Stadium: the Schüco Arena
Goals: Moussa Diaby (0-1, min. 18), Patrik Schick (0-2, min. 24), Patrik Schick (0-3, min. 57) and Kerem Demirbay (0-4, min. 90)