Arminia Bielefeld 0-3 Wolfsburg – Wolfsburg blaze past Arminia, scoring 3 at the Schüco Arena without reply

Photo Credit: AP

Technical card:
Arminia Bielefeld: Stefan Ortega, Cedric Brunner, Joakim Nilsson, Amos Pieper, Jacob Laursen (Nathan De Medina, min.75), Ritsu Doan (Christian Gebauer, min.60), Michel Vlap (Sergio Cordova, min.60), Fabian Kunze, Manuel Prietl, Andreas Voglsammer (Masaya Okugawa, min.60) and Fabian Klos (Sven Schipplock, min.89)
Wolfsburg: Koen Casteels, Kevin Mbabu, John Brooks, Maxence Lacroix (Marin Pongracic, min.82), Paulo Otavio, Ridle Baku, Maximilian Arnold (Maximilian Philipp, min.74), Yannick Gerhardt, Xaver Schlager (Josuha Guilavogui, min.74), Renato Steffen (Josip Brekalo, min.74) and Wout Weghorst (Bartosz Bialek, min.82)
Stadium: the Schüco Arena
Goals: Renato Steffen (0-1, min. 29), Renato Steffen (0-2, min. 47) and Maximilian Arnold (0-3, min. 54)

Wolfsburg beat Arminia with a thumping 3-0 victory on Friday at the Schüco Arena. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were keen to pick up points. Arminia Bielefeld wanted to improve their league standing after a 3-3 draw against Bayern Munich. Wolfsburg, on the other hand, were unable to beat Borussia Mönchengladbach in a 0-0 draw. Following today’s result, Arminia Bielefeld and Wolfsburg sit 16th, (18 points) and 3rd, (42 points), in the league respectively, after 22 matches.

The first half of the game started favourably for Wolfsburg, with Renato Steffen opening the rout in the 29th minute. Later, Wolfsburg scored again and increased their advantage thanks to another goal from Renato Steffen, scoring his second goal in the 47th minute just before half-time. The score at half time was 2-0.

Wolfsburg staged a comeback in the second half, with Maximilian Arnold opening the scoring in the 54th minute to hand victory to the visitors.

For Arminia Bielefeld Masaya Okugawa, Sergio Cordova, Christian Gebauer, Nathan De Medina and Sven Schipplock came on for Andreas Voglsammer, Michel Vlap, Ritsu Doan, Jacob Laursen and Fabian Klos, while Wolfsburg brought on Josuha Guilavogui, Maximilian Philipp, Josip Brekalo, Bartosz Bialek and Marin Pongracic to replace Xaver Schlager, Maximilian Arnold, Renato Steffen, Wout Weghorst and Maxence Lacroix.

The referee booked two players from Wolfsburg, John Brooks and Josuha Guilavogui.

Arminia Bielefeld will next travel to Borussia Dortmund, while Wolfsburg will face Hertha Berlin at home.

*The credit for all of photos in this article belongs to AP*